top of page

I’ve been charged with a theft crime in Florida. What should I do?

There are many different kinds of theft crimes, such as small theft, big theft, robbery, and burglary. Overall, these crimes are put into groups based on how much money was taken. For example, in Florida, grand theft is when you steal something worth more than $750 or $300 if it belongs to the police or emergency medical services.


Because it is such a serious crime, grand theft is called a felony crime. This means that if someone is found guilty of this crime, they will have to pay fines and spend anywhere from 5 to 30 years in jail. Other punishments could be restitution, community service, or probation.



If you have been accused of grand theft in Florida, you need a skilled criminal lawyer to make sure you have strong legal representation in court. The Arroyo Law Firm has helped people all over Florida. Our theft lawyers have the skills and courtroom experience to help you win your case.


Penalties for Grand Theft in Florida

Grand theft is a felony in the state of Florida. This means that if a person is found guilty, he or she could go to jail for 5 to 30 years and have to pay a fine of $5,000 to $10,000. Depending on the case, there may be more punishments. Florida Statute 812.014 says that grand theft crimes are different types of felonies depending on the specific circumstances and factors that were present at the time of the crime.


Penalties for Third-Degree Grand Theft in Florida

For a grand theft to be a third-degree felony, the stolen property must be worth between $750 and $20,000. You can also be charged with these crimes if the stolen property was:

  • Firearm

  • Stop sign

  • Any amount of a drug that is illegal

  • Extinguisher for fire

  • Car or truck

  • Animals raised for profit wills and testaments (will, codicil).

  • A third-degree felony can result in 5 years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $5,000.

Stealing Property Worth $20,000 to Less Than $100,000 Leads to Second-Degree Felony

If someone steals something worth between $20,000 and less than $100,000, they will be charged with a second-degree felony. These charges can lead to a prison sentence of up to 15 years and a fine of up to $10,000.


You can also be charged with a second-degree felony if the property you stole was:

  • Property worth more than $300 that belongs to the police or is used for medical emergencies.

  • Goods worth less than $50,000 that enter interstate or intrastate commerce.

Grand theft: a crime of the first degree

In Florida, grand theft is a first-degree felony if the amount taken is more than $100,000. The maximum sentence for this charge is 30 years in prison and a $10,000 fine. You can also be charged with these things if:


  • The stolen property was cargo worth more than $50,000 that was going to or coming from another state.

  • In the course of the crime, the defendant did more than $1,000 worth of damage to people or things.

Summary of Grand Theft in Florida and its Penalties.

Grand theft is defined by Florida Statute 812.014 as taking or trying to take someone else's property with the intent to take away the victim's use of the property or to use the item for the offender's or someone else's benefit. In Florida, grand theft is defined as stealing something worth more than $750.

Overall, grand theft crimes involve large amounts of stolen property. Still, the penalties and charges for theft depend on the type of property that was stolen and how it was taken. For example, it is considered grand theft to steal emergency medical or law enforcement equipment worth more than $300.



So, to sum up, here are the things that make up grand theft:

  • The goal of stealing someone else's property is either to stop the owner from using it or to use it for himself or herself.

  • The amount taken is more than $750, or $300 if it was a piece of law enforcement or medical equipment.

In Florida, there are different levels of grand theft that depend on how much and what was stolen. In other words, a grand theft crime can be charged as a third-degree felony or a first-degree felony, depending on how bad it was. In Florida, the amount of time you have to report a grand theft is the same as for other theft crimes.


Some of the most common ways we can defend you are:

  • Lack of will

  • Mistake about who owns what

  • Consent

  • The defendant did what he did because he had to.

  • Value that went up

  • Getting the property legally or using it legally

The best way to handle a theft charge in court depends on the specifics of the case and the evidence that your criminal defense lawyer can find to support your case.


Tools Used by the Prosecution to Prove Theft or Retail Theft Charges

The prosecution will use a variety of tools to prove a theft or retail theft charge. The State can use the testimony of loss prevention officers, video surveillance, written statements from the accused, admissions from the accused, the testimony of other customers who saw what happened, receipts and other business records, the testimony of co-defendants, and the items taken or photos of the items taken.


Consult a lawyer

Being accused of grand theft can be very scary and overwhelming, because it can lead to serious consequences. So, you might want to hire a skilled and experienced theft attorney who can start working on your case right away.


Here at the Arroyo Law Firm, we offer complete defense services and inexpensive payment plans to help offenders defend their rights. For a free case evaluation, reach out to us online or by phone at 407-770-9000. Knowing your alternatives won't cost you anything, even if you decide not to hire us.



2 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page